Cougars go 2-2 vs Top Ranked Teams

Hi everyone!

I’m Haley Peterson, a freshman setter from Pekin, IL. I am majoring in Horticulture. With my classes, I get to spend time at the Horticulture Land Lab here on campus. Those days are my favorite because I get to be outside for class and learn more about the gardens that are there. If you haven’t had a chance to see it, I would definitely recommend it!

I started playing volleyball in 4th grade at Good Shepherd Lutheran School. When I began to play there, I fell in love with the game. I’m excited to be a part of the ICC Volleyball Team, I always wanted to see how far I would go in my volleyball career. Along with volleyball being one of my hobbies, I love to do many crafts, waterski, and spend time with family and friends. One of my favorite times of the year is when volleyball season starts and also when football games start up again. I love spending my Sunday afternoons and evenings watching football. It is one of the few sports I like watching on TV. One of my favorite family traditions is going to my grandma’s house on holidays and spending time with all of my family. It is great to catch up with all of them and talk about funny stories from the past and just have a great time together.

The life as a student athlete is sometimes very difficult: managing school, homework, practice, games, and getting enough sleep. Although these sometimes can be difficult, the challenge of managing all these things is enjoyable. It lets me know that I am keeping myself busy and having fun at college. I love going to class and learning new things and volleyball is a bonus for me! I have been a student-athlete all throughout high school, and I am glad I have been able to continue being one.

One of my favorite quotes is “Life is 10 percent what happens to you and 90 percent how you react to it.” I heard the quote from my pastor at church and it has stuck with me since he has said it. It has made me realize that there are many things in life that you can do or have done, but you remember the feeling of those events that make going on new adventures a mystery.

36499619160_6baf15f657_k

This past weekend we went to Kirkwood Community College located in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.  On Friday we lost the first match to Johnson in four and beat Kirkwood (ranked #11 in NJCAA Division II Poll) in five.  Saturday we played back-to-back matches against Sauk Valley (#6) and Central Nebraska (#2). We won the first match and lost the second, finishing 2-2. The tournament gave us great competition! We are now 6-3 on the season.  We have a week of practice until our next tournament at ICC this coming weekend!  We play on Friday, Sept 15th at 3 and 7 pm.  We would love to have you come out and support us.

 

Haley Peterson #14

 

Leave a Reply

