Jackie #8

Hello volleyball fans!! I’m Jackie Beaver #8 for your lady Cougars. I am a freshman that just graduated from Metamora Township High School. In volleyball I play middle and right front. Some fun facts about me are, my favorite colors are green and purple (it’s a close tie). My favorite animals are monkeys and frogs, and I love to paint in my free time. I am the second youngest of five kids and I love my family with all my heart.  I don’t know for sure what I want to do after college but I have a feeling that ICC will help me get on the right track!

Over the summer I got to spend a week in Florida with my best friend. We went to water parks, universal studios and CoCoa beach! While at the beach I got to play some sand volleyball with locals and it was a blast! My partner’s name was Phil, we beat every team we played against. At the resort we stayed at, my friend and I got to do yoga on an island every morning. It was so peaceful hear nothing but birds singing and watch the sun rise. Other than a week In Florida, I worked a lot this summer and spent a ton of time with my friends. My closest sister is getting ready to leave for college in Michigan so we spent every second that we could together. Even though I had a great summer I am thrilled to be back in school and back in season!

I thought it would be a good idea to  let you all know what I think the biggest changes are between high school and college. First change, you are on your own schedule. Nobody is there to tell you where you need to be and at what time. Second change, you don’t know anyone. This isn’t just the people that you’ve known all through grade school and high school. This opens opportunities for you to break from your comfort zone and meet new people! Third change, professors expect you to understand the material. If you don’t understand, they expect you to ask about it. Professors are not going to sit by your side and walk you through everything, but will help if you tell them you need help.

Tuesday, August 22 the Cougars took on the Saints from the University of Saint Francis. All the games were very close because we had great competition, but the Cougars pulled away with the win! The team had such great energy and seemed to do all the little things right, helping us on the success.  On Wednesday we beat Carl Sandburg 3-0 and Saturday we got the opportunity to scrimmage at a tournament at University of Illinois Springfield.  We got a chance to scrimmage McKendree, Millikin, University of Missouri St Louis, Maryville, and UIS.  This week we are on the road, keep an eye on the schedule. Our next home matches are Sept 15 & 16.   

Be sure to check out our updates picture page and link to our schedule for the season.

Jackie Beaver #8

Leave a Reply

