The Turning Point

Hello there, Cougar fans! It’s Kenzie Rhodes writing the blog this week. For those of you who don’t know me, I’m a freshman setter from Mackinaw, Illinois. I live here on campus at ICC and absolutely love it! I live here with three of my teammates Claire, Maria, and Taylor. Living on campus has giving me the advantage to get to know a lot of awesome people and to be able to wake up 10 minutes before class and still be there on time. The only disadvantage is not being able to wake up to my lovely dog giving me kisses every morning when my alarm goes off. Little fun fact about me, I love dogs! Anyways, I am currently enrolled in 16 credit hours. With the classes that I am taking, I plan to major in-Health Career Professions. Another fun fact about me is that I’m an only child, so my parents make it to about every one of my games. It’s awesome to have such a big support system.


Now onto what you all have been waiting for! This past week of volleyball we only had one game vs. Lincoln College, so we had four days of straight practice. We put in a lot of work not only in the gym, but the weight room and classroom as well. Friday came and we started warming up like we would any other game. The whistle blew and the match started; however, it wasn’t the way we planned it to start. We lost the first two sets! Third match came along and we knew we had to win, it was a regional match after all. We came back and won the third set, the fourth set, and the fifth! As much as we weren’t expecting that to happen and as crazy as it drove our coach, we needed that win. We realized that no matter the set or score we have to come together as a team and fight for every point. The focus, and the energy by the end of the game is what we needed the whole time. They do say “teamwork makes the dream work” and that is what we had that game. Everyone was engaged whether it was on or off the court. We had players coming on and off and they got their jobs done. It was a good match to win and see us all come together and I hope this transitions into our future matches.


This upcoming week we have Cougar Pride night and we play the #1 ranked team in the nation, Parkland. So come out and support our lady cougars and help us get fired up! Don’t forget to get some popcorn while you’re there! Go Cougs!

-Kenzie Rhodes #9

Leave a Reply

