Two Wins this Week

Hey Cougar fans! Its Taylor Shaw. I’m a freshman outside hitter from Annawan, Illinois.  I graduated high school with a class of just 37, which is pretty darn small. I have two younger brothers Brendon (junior in high school) and Isaac (freshman in high school). Back home I live on a farm in the country just outside of town. But here at ICC I live in the on campus apartments. I live with Maria, Kenzie, and Claire, all of which are on the volleyball team with me here at ICC. Living with them has been a blast, and we have all learned a little something. For example, don’t put dish soap in the dish washer or suds will start coming out the bottom haha!

A typical day for me is to get up, attend all my classes, and then go to volleyball practice. So far I love all of my classes and have met a lot of nice people here at ICC. But if I had to pick my favorite part of the day, it’d be volleyball practice. I get to see all my teammates and play the sport I love! This past week we had two games, both were Region matches which are important wins to meet our goal of placing at Nationals this year. On Tuesday we traveled to Bellville, Illinois and played SWIC. We defeated them in just three sets. We also defeated Lewis & Clark in three sets on Friday.  I enjoy playing in our home gym and it was great to see all the fans that came out and supported us!! We love that!

We are officially half way through our season, 13-7 on the season and ranked 14th in the nation.  As we move forward we have a lot to look forward to facing both the #2 (Parkland College) and #3 (Lincoln Land) ranked teams in the nation along with some great competition at tournaments in Brenhem, TX and Hillsboro, MO.  This coming week we take on Lincoln College, Friday at 6 P.M. on their home floor. Wish us luck!!

#4 Taylor Shaw

Leave a Reply

